Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Text Size

Craig Pedersen Quartet CD Release Concert gets a bravo

Craig Pedersen (trumpet) and Joel Kerr (bass). ©Brett Delmage, 2011The Craig Pedersen Quartet (Craig Pedersen - trumpet, Linsey Wellman - alto sax, Joel Kerr - bass, and Mike Essoudry - drums) filled Club SAW with an enthusiastic  audience for the release of their first CD on November 29. By the time they played the last piece, they received a standing ovation and at least one "Bravo!".

Ottawa guitarist Lucas Haneman opened the evening with a short set of four originals, mostly taken from his recent CD. Played solo, they had a different, more folk/jazz vibe, almost reminiscent of mid-career Bruce Cockburn.

The Quartet played the pieces on the CD, Days Like Today, with some added improvisation and lots of verve. For the encore, they were joined by Haneman, in playing Björk's "Undo", in an extended, anthemic, and glorious rendition.

    – Alayne McGregor

View more photos

See also: The Craig Pedersen Quartet Days like This CD release interview: Craig Pedersen, Hands-on musician

Photos ©Brett Delmage, 2011

  1. Renee Yoxon at the reception table
  2. Gaby Warren with Lucas Haneman
  3. The Craig Pedersen Quartet performing
  4. The Craig Pedersen Quartet performing
  5. Linsey Wellman enjoys the music
  6. Craig Pedersen (trumpet) and Joel Kerr (double bass)
  7. Lucan Haneman and the Quartet play Undo