The Ottawa Jazz Festival released its official compilation disc of local jazz artists – Valley Giants 2012 – today.

And to let you know more about the CD and musicians on it, CKCU jazz radio host Bernard Stepien will be interviewing the festival's programming director, Petr Cancura, tonight. The interview will air on Rabble Without a Cause, between 11 p.m. and midnight, on 93.1FM or online at

"Knowing how local musicians in general all over the world are struggling to either record or distribute their own CDs, this initiative is certainly a major contribution," Stepien says.

If you miss tonight's broadcast, you will still be able to hear this show (and all other CKCU radio shows) for up to one month after broadcast. Go to click on the tab for Wednesday, click on RWAC, click on the CKCU On Demand button and just listen.

According to Petr Cancura's blog, the following pieces are featured on the CD:

  • Baby, Baby (Mike Essoudry’s Mash Potato Mashers)
  • She's Returning (A.K.A. Marie Etait Triste) (Christine Fagan)
  • Scatterbrain Drain (John Geggie Trio + Donny McCaslin)
  • The Baron (Craig Pedersen Quartet)
  • Sahara Sand Dune (Lucas Haneman)
  • Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (Kellylee Evans)
  • Mamaya (The Souljazz Orchestra)
  • Plastic Cactus (3 Jimmys)
  • All The Time (Dry River Caravan)
  • Déjà Vu (Steve Berndt and Brian Browne)
  • Lovers’ Lullaby (Renée Yoxon & René Gely)
  • Cidade da Saudade (Pulse Mondiale)
  • Fields Are Free (Mike Tremblay/Mark Ferguson Duo)
  • Scitzopology (The Kelly Craig Sextet)
  • Aurora (The Tim Bedner Group)
  • Riverside Drive (Slim Moore & the Mar-Kays)

More information about these musicians: